Law Office of Matthew B. Lun, Esq. 29 Emmons Drive, Suite G40
Princeton, New Jersey 08540
Reckless driving is a very serious New Jersey Traffic offense. The statutes define Reckless Driving in New Jersey as follows:
A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00, or both.
On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.
Reckless driving is an offense that is commonly written by police officers to accompany a DUI/DWI or an excessive speeding violation.
Reckless driving is distinguished from careless driving by the fact that the State must show that the person willfully or purposefully drove recklessly.
If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in New Jersey under statute N.J.S. 39:4-96 contact the Law Office of Matthew B. Lun, Esq. today at 609-964-0900.